30
Jan
13

1.30.13 Another day in NYC … returned to adventures of yesterday like an old pro!

NYC, The Waldorf Astoria, Starbucks, Starbucks Reusable Cups, Starbucks name:  As I mentioned yesterday, I was very pleased with the Waldorf this visit.  The hotel as renovated is a huge improvement over the state of the hotel two years ago.  A few things I will note: Salvatore Feragamo bath products are not worth taking for the homeless.  The company is known for leather shoes!  The rooms are large, but the decor still makes you feel as though you walked back in time, which I personally like.  And look at that thick solid wood door.  Makes me feel safe!

IMG_5333 IMG_5335 IMG_5336 IMG_5334

After checking out, I met my friend Kim, the Davidson Wasabi Founder, and we started off at Starbucks where I used my $1 reusable cup which saves me 10 cents. Of course, I used my Starbucks name “Molly.”  🙂

Photo: Day 3 recyclable cup saves me 10 cents.  :)

“I am not looking to make friends when I go into a coffee shop, I just want a drink,” he complains.

Some drinkers are determined to withhold their identities from baristas

“I want a pleasant but respectful distance between me and the person serving me coffee – I don’t want to go clubbing with them.”

Certainly, initial reactions on Twitter were polarised.

While some were enthusiastic about Starbucks’ offer of free coffee to promote the policy change, others were determined to humorously subvert what they saw as a breach of the implicit barista-customer relationship.

The latter is a sentiment that Chris Hackley, professor of marketing at Royal Holloway, University of London, believes many customers will share – particularly those who visit Starbucks’ cafes in order to work, or to find a bit of solitary peace and quiet.

“Some people might like being called by their first name, but I think many will be indifferent, and some might feel awkward – like it’s over-familiar, or a bit of an intrusion into privacy,” he says.

Of course, for years smaller cafe chains and independent outlets have known that striking up conversations over a cuppa is a good way to do business.

Do these beans have your name on them?

But Hackley thinks Starbucks – at least when it is not someone’s regular haunt – could also come under fire for appearing fake.

“Companies can overplay the importance of one-to-one communication. When people are not seeking it – like when they are gathering information on the internet or quickly purchasing a coffee – it can be quite irritating.

“It’s a bogus personalisation of an economic relationship. Friendship needs to be genuine,” he says.

via BBC News – Will you tell Starbucks your name?.

NYC,  Big Onion, Davidson Wasabies,  100th anniversary of Grand Central, Grand Central by Billy Collins, Times Square, Chelsea/Meatpacking District, FIG & OLIVE Restaurant – Kitchen Tasting Bar, Fig and Olive, Arhaus Furniture,  High Line Park, Thomas Houseago –  Lying Figure (2011),    El Anatsui, Ithinkoutsidemybox, “Unconditional Surrender”, Soho,  Harney & Sons,   Pomegranate Oolong,  LaGuardia Airport (LGA),  Delta Club, US Airways Club:  

On to bigger and better things … We take the 6 train from 51st street to Grand Central (1 stop), then something to Times Square (not via the S/Shuttle, which would have been quicker), where I get my station pictures of the revelers and the movie poster for Hansel and Gretel …

IMG_5340 IMG_5339

IMG_5341

IMG_5342

I noticed the ad for the 100th anniversary of Grand Central with a poem that I liked (see above), and so I searched for it …

Poetry in Motion: Grand Central by Billy Collins – YouTube.

So Kim and I arrived in Chelsea/Meatpacking District and toured around for a few minutes … I pointed out some spots CW had pointed out to me the day before ….  (And CW, I went back in the Wonderland Salon and bought the heart earrings for Molly as well as the guidebook on the High Line Park).

IMG_5345 IMG_5344

And then we spotted an Arhaus.  Kim is looking for furniture, so we ventured in … Big Sale … I am glad I do not live near an Arhaus …

IMG_5352

  IMG_5349 IMG_5353 IMG_5348

IMG_5346 IMG_5351 IMG_5350

At heart, we’re adventurers, motivated by unfailing passion and curiosity. Our furniture exemplifies the history and romance of our distinctive worldview. The curve of a leather sofa. The beautifully imperfect, salvaged wood of a rustic dining room table. All works of functional art. And at Arhaus, it’s never just about how a thing looks. It’s about the memories that are summoned—both past and present. Settle in; take a look around. Let our stories become yours.

via Quality Furniture for Home & Home Office | Arhaus Furniture.

Now back on to to the High Line.  Kim and I had several hours, so we walked all 20 blocks and back.  It was fun to walk it two days in a row, because I noticed some more things and saw some things differently …

The first was this sculpture by Thomas Houseago, Lying Figure (2011).  Yesterday I thought the raised parts were his knees and now I realize they are his shoulders without a head.

IMG_5358

 IMG_5357 IMG_5356 IMG_5355

What are the berries?  They look like blueberries, but the birds would have eaten them … and besides, its the end of January.

 IMG_5360 IMG_5359

Next we walked along and took note of the wooden chaises (we had been looking at chaises in Arhaus).  Kim noticed that the single chaises were on rail wheels!

IMG_5361 IMG_5362

Yesterday, i focused more on the billboards, but isn’t this amphitheater cool?

 IMG_5364

Kim knows a lot about plants and gardening.  The red berries definitely catch your attention.  Neither of us knew what the succulent looking plant was, but everything planted here is supposed to be native to the area.  And I never knew cedars had berries.

IMG_5366 IMG_5367 IMG_5369 IMG_5370

Then we quickly focused on the El Anatsui and Kim pointed out a few things I had not noticed the day before … Kim and her husband Tom introduced me to El Anatsui and I have to admit, i feel pretty cool knowing who he is!  Thanks, Km and Tom.

IMG_5368 IMG_5371 IMG_5372 IMG_5373

And the Ithinkoutsidemybox guy was just setting up.  I chose not to paint again today. ;0

 IMG_5377 IMG_5376

A few more that were just fun or interesting:

 IMG_5380 IMG_5379 IMG_5378

Then we talked about the wooden “Petticoat Junction” water towers … which my PHd candidate Big Onion Tours scholar did not know why they are a New York thing …

IMG_5381
And these two new buildings were really interesting.  The first one for the waves and the second because the intensity of the hammered metal decreases as you go up.
  IMG_5382 IMG_5383 IMG_5384
And a modern rendition of “Unconditional Surrender” …
IMG_5389

Smokestacks …

IMG_5386 IMG_5391

A resident with a sense of humor. 🙂

IMG_5395

A little of this … a little of that …

   IMG_5392 IMG_5394  IMG_5396 IMG_5390  IMG_5388

 If you are wondering what is at the end …

IMG_5397

On our return walk,  a few more of the El Anatsui

IMG_5399 IMG_5398

And now lunch … Again, CW, thank you for the recommendation of the Fig and Olive.  We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and since it was Restaurant Week, we got a great deal!!

IMG_5400  IMG_5401 IMG_5402 IMG_5403 IMG_5404

Lunch $25

APPETIZERS Salmon Ceviche Crostone  and Romaine & Endive Baby Beet Salad

MAIN COURSE Chicken Tajine

DESSERT Chocolate Pot de Crème

FIG & OLIVE Restaurant – Kitchen Tasting Bar and Olive Oil Store.

And finally, off to SoHo via cab from which we saw this funny little gold man …  Who is he, anyone know?

IMG_5406

In Soho I dragged Kim to  Harney & Sons … they have the best pomegranate oolong tea … and then gave her a hug and headed north.  Kim  hit the furniture boutiques.

Pomegranate Oolong

The full leaves of premium Ti Quan Yin oolong are deliciously infused with tangy pomegranate to create this inspiring yet complex full-bodied blend that brews into a sweetly fragrant, silky textured cup of tea. The Ti Quan Yin oolong used is named after the Chinese “Goddess of Mercy.”

via Pomegranate Oolong.

Great day, Thank you,  Kim,  for birthday lunch and a day in the city!
Back on the 6 train from Spring St. to 51st Street (note the beautiful tiles at Spring). … and then  to LGA.

IMG_5407 IMG_5408 IMG_5409 IMG_5410 IMG_5411

Goodbye, Big Onion via  LaGuardia Airport (LGA). And BTW, the snacks at the Delta Club are far superior to those at the US Airways Club.  So I was glad they are redoing the US Airways Cl.ub

USPS, First-Class Postage, FYI;  46cents!

Wall Street Journal (@WSJ)

1/28/13, 7:04 AM

The price of sending a first-class letter in the U.S. rose a penny Sunday to 46 cents.

First-Class Postage Rate Marches Higher

via First-Class Postage Rate Marches Higher – WSJ.com.

final thoughts, pictures of where I walk:  If you make it this far let me know.  As a followup, my adventure companion sent me a picture that i love (see below).  As we were walking, I told her that I almost always take a picture of my feet walking or standing and that the reason is because when I went to take the bar exam, I was walking over to the Atlanta Civic Center with a classmate and he looked down at his feet and said, “It’s going to be a good day.  My family’s company made this sewer cap.”  It was a good day … we both passed.  Here’s Kim’s picture and her caption:

IMG959203

“You and me, a quite unintentional shot!”


0 Responses to “1.30.13 Another day in NYC … returned to adventures of yesterday like an old pro!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 630 other followers


