23
Feb
13

2.23.13 … Rabbit knows …

“Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2013 Lenten labyrinth walks, South Tryon Community Church: I waited again today because it was raining,again,  and 46°F.  But since it was 3 PM, I headed out …

IMG_6002 IMG_6004 IMG_6022

IMG_6006

The first thing I noticed today was the Church’s slogan on the face of the church and on the banner … “Experience the change …”

The next thing I noticed was the scripture reference on the banner – Zephaniah 3:17-19:

17 The Lord your God is with you,

the Mighty Warrior who saves.

He will take great delight in you;

in his love he will no longer rebuke you,

but will rejoice over you with singing.”

18 “I will remove from you

all who mourn over the loss of your appointed festivals,

which is a burden and reproach for you.

19 At that time I will deal

with all who oppressed you.

I will rescue the lame;

I will gather the exiles.

I will give them praise and honor

in every land where they have suffered shame.

via Zephaniah 3:17-19 NIV – The LORD your God is with you, the – Bible Gateway.

So I let these two be the focus of my walk …

As I got out of my car, Rabbit the groundskeeper at STCC, called to me and said that the labyrinth is not in good shape but is going to be redone beginning next week.  I smiled.  I think he said this to me last time I was here. But the labyrinth was really not in good shape, but there were clear signs that a redo is in the works.  The fence has been pulled up and the cross lies on its side.  The labyrinth  was covered in weeds. As a matter fact, the labyrinth pattern was indistinguishable on the left side, and I had to dig underneath the weeds to find the bricks that marked the boundaries. Luckily, I know the Chartres pattern by heart and can move through it without making a mistake, well, almost without making a mistake.

IMG_6032   IMG_6008 IMG_6010

 IMG_6017 IMG_6018  IMG_6015

   IMG_6029  IMG_6013

 IMG_6027

Recently, I met the father of one of the scouts who was involved in the initial building of this labyrinth. When I told him it was not in good shape, he said that he would get the scouts out there to help. Hopefully that is what is happening next week.

It is a nice labyrinth.  The community around South Tryon Community Church is definitely a very poor community. As I drove from Tryon to South Boulevard and went over the light rail tracks, nice new apartments and condominiums and even a “Canine Café” have been built recently.  I wondered what the people who live here and have lived here think of these changes to their community.

After crossing South Boulevard, I entered the outskirts of Dilworth. The original houses are very small ranch houses, a very middle-class/working-class community. However about every other lot, the original house has been torn down and a MacMansion now
fills the whole lot.  I wondered what these people think of the changes that are coming to their community.

I then wondered what they think of having a labyrinth nearby or if they even know … Rabbit knows.


0 Responses to “2.23.13 … Rabbit knows …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

