16
May
13

5.16.13 … When i say family movies, I mean movies enjoyable for everyone from 18 -80+.

Family movies, kith/kin:   Last night we watched The Avengers with my family, including my mom. We happen to be at the beach and this is just what we do …  She did not like Silver Linings Playbook because of the excessive use of the “f” word. I don’t think she’ll liked this one either. I had Life of Pi and Argo, too … any thoughts on what an 80-something will enjoy?

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, if you have Netflix or On Demand.

The King’s Speech.

Back to The Avengers … Explaining to my mom that they made a comic book into action film is very confusing…

The Avengers however do share the same time and space continuum, although in recent years, they’ve been treated in separate, single-superhero movies. One assumes the idle Avengers follow the exploits of the employed ones on the news.

“The Avengers,” much awaited by Marvel comics fans, assembles all of the Avengers in one film: Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, the Hulk, the Black Widow and Hawkeye. This is like an all-star game, or the chef’s sampling menu at a fancy restaurant.

via The Avengers Movie Review & Film Summary (2012) | Roger Ebert.

Back to The Kings Speech and The Exotic Marigold Hotel:  She loved the King’s Speech and the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel!

The Queen.

Seen it …

Call the Midwife?

 I’ll check that out! I have never seen it.

 That’s the ticket. I promise.

“42” … If she likes baseball, I really liked “42”.

Turner Classic Movies on cable

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen.

 Salmon … is a favorite. I’ll see if she’s seen it.

 And Catherine she loooves baseball.

has she seen Hyde Park on Hudson?

 No re Hyde Park. That’s in the REdbox. Maybe I will get that next!

Dave, The American President, PrettY Woman, Miss congeniality ,the proposal, fried green tomatoes, a,league of their own.

Life of Pi. excellent.

My mother loved War Horse.

Does War Hrse make you cry. I hate to cry.

Lincoln, The King’s Speech,

Sorry to repeat one, Liza B has great taste,

Perhaps The Help…

Master and Commander is a good one. My father-in-law loved it.

So what did you choose ? If all fails, I bet she would love a few episodes of Downton Abbey ! My Mom loves it.

Go back to Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers! My mom LOVED these!

Sorry to backtrack like this, but what made you choose “The Avengers” in the first place?

these are old but wonderful — The Man from Snowy River and The Princess Bride.

As you wish…

Mike – (a) The Avengers was in the Redbox, and (b) I was trying to get a birthday selection for John. I should have put on another in the bedroom for my mom, but she likes being with all us so much, she was not about to budge from the family area!

Django Unchained? (Just kidding, though I loved it.)

Old but still good, Gosford Park, Calendar Girls

Lincoln…on PPV

 I have a very funny calendar girls story. Right, Joni ?

And I might try Lincoln, I liked it. I know she fell asleep during Lincoln.

And Susan, we took her to the Fox in Atlanta to see Princess Bride. Big grand theater, a glass of wine, all her girls, confusing story line …. ZZZZZZ But she had a great time!

 Parental Guardian with Billy Crystal and Bette Midler

via Watching The Avengers with my family, including… – Dennard Lindsey Teague.


0 Responses to “5.16.13 … When i say family movies, I mean movies enjoyable for everyone from 18 -80+.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

