31
May
13

5.31.13 … Marcellus Hall’s ‘Urban Cycles’: “I’ve only been ‘doored’ twice” …

Marcellus Hall’s ‘Urban Cycles’, The New Yorker, Citi Bikes:  “I’ve only been ‘doored’ twice” … wow, I’ve never been “doored.”

130603_2013_p290.jpg

“I’ve only been ‘doored’ twice,” says Marcellus Hall, the artist who penned this week’s cover, “Urban Cycles.” Hall goes on to explain how he’s managed to survive for fifteen years as a cyclist in the city: “I’m very careful. I look into the side mirrors of the parked cars to see if there’s movement inside. I ride only on the left side of the street because there’s less of chance of a passenger getting out than of a driver. Actually, I read it in some cyclist publication that, as a cyclist, you’re allowed to take up a whole lane and sometimes, I even do that—though it’s a risky proposition. I’m not one of those hard-core bike freaks; it’s just a good way for me to get around in the city.”

via Cover Story: Marcellus Hall’s ‘Urban Cycles’ : The New Yorker.

 


0 Responses to “5.31.13 … Marcellus Hall’s ‘Urban Cycles’: “I’ve only been ‘doored’ twice” …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 630 other followers

May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

