14
Jun
13

6.14.13 … walking with Mozi: “Now if we seek to take universal love as the standard, … and those with knowledge of The Way will endeavor to teach others” …

“Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, Avondale Presbyterian Church, South Tryon Community  UMC, Mozi:  Yesterday (6.13) I took another walk.  First, I stopped by South Tryon Community  UMC.  When I visited during Lent, I was told they were beginning a rehab of the labyrinth and to come back in a few weeks.  I am very sad that I must report that this lovely little labyrinth, originally an Eagle Scout Project has not been rehabbed.  It is really a wonderful labyrinth and a wonderful addition to this depressed community.

IMG_7256 IMG_7257
So I ventured to Avondale, my favorite local labyrinth.  I walked into the Sacred Garden, and I  see absolutely beautiful summer flowers …
IMG_7258
IMG_7264
I realized summer is finally here.  It was mighty hot and sunny.
As I walked the labyrinth, I went in and out of the shadows and sunlight.  This is one of my favorite things about this labyrinth.  I also heard an abundance of birds and the chimes.  It was s a perfect day for a walk.
IMG_7261 IMG_7260 IMG_7263
IMG_7266 IMG_7265
As I finished  up I realize that someone has picked the moss out of the crevices in the bricks.  Why would someone remove the moss?
IMG_7269
I loved this quote in Avondale’s brochure:
Now if we seek to take universal love as the standard, those with sharp ears and clear eyes will see and hear for others, those with sturdy limbs will work for others, and those with knowledge of The Way will endeavor to teach others. – Mozi  (472 BCE – 391 BCE)

Mozi (Chinese: 墨子; pinyin: Mòzǐ; Wade–Giles: Mo Tzu, Lat. as Micius, ca. 470 BC – ca. 391 BC), original name Mo Di (墨翟), was a Chinese philosopher during the Hundred Schools of Thought period (early Warring States Period). Born in Tengzhou, Shandong Province, China, he founded the school of Mohism, and argued strongly against Confucianism and Daoism.

via Mozi – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

IMG_7259 IMG_7270

0 Responses to “6.14.13 … walking with Mozi: “Now if we seek to take universal love as the standard, … and those with knowledge of The Way will endeavor to teach others” …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

June 2013
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

