07
Jul
13

7.7.13 … Anne Lamott and Molly Barker: Two of my favorites and they share a date, July 7. Kudos to you both and thanks for sharing your stories …

Today is my 27th anniversary of being clean and sober, the greatest miracle of my life. So this brief post is to thank you for your love, support and prayers, which I have always felt as as a writer and public person–always….

AND to sneakily try to suck some of you into the web of recovery.

I think there is a tiny, tiny chance that some people reading this, maybe one or two people–I’m sure YOU are just fine–wake up many mornings feeling defeated and insane. These two wake up confused about why on earth they drank–or ate–so much again. Or why they are trying to save yet one more pissed-off person from the catastrophe of that person’s consequences, esp since that person hates and resents all those loving efforts and excellent suggestions? Or why they are once again being shamed by their mate, who actually had TATTOOS on their forehead that said, “Will not be able to love you: will in fact be addicted to withholding love from you.”

Why do you voluntarily make yourself sick and ashamed so often? I mean, that is kind of nuts, isn’t it?

via Anne Lamott – Today is my 27th anniversary of being clean and….

Twenty years ago…July 7 1993…I went out on a run that changed the course of my life. I realized, thanks to the overwhelming darkness I felt the night before, that surrendering wasn’t a sign of weakness, but strength and that I was, indeed, an alcoholic.

I made a decision to turn my will over to the Power of something greater than myself.

While the road hasn’t always been easy (it’s life) and the decisions I’ve made haven’t always been the healthiest (I’m human), my world and my experience in it is something I wouldn’t have thought possible…the darkness, fear and shame were so overwhelming…but here I am 20 years later immersed in a kind of love, joy and peace that was available to me (and you) all along, but I just couldn’t see though the guise of addiction. I am, and will be, eternally grateful to the literally thousands and thousands of people who have believed in me, even when I couldn’t or didn’t, over the years and who never, ever gave up on me.

via Molly Wilmer Barker.


0 Responses to “7.7.13 … Anne Lamott and Molly Barker: Two of my favorites and they share a date, July 7. Kudos to you both and thanks for sharing your stories …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

July 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

