21
Aug
13

8.21.13 … Morning has broken … Davidson’s matchmaker: Scotty Nicholls, RIP… Always Go to the Funeral … Marconi Union: Weightless by Just Music Label

Unapologetically EpiscopalianUnapologetically Episcopalian – I love this page’s posts. What a nice way to start the day. “Morning has broken … ”

via ▶ St Mary’s choristers, Edinburgh : Morning has broken – YouTube.

Scotty Hastie Nicholls, RIP, Obituaries:  Matchmaker … she set up freshman roommates for years, also one of the original Tarradiddle Players at Children’s Theater.  RIP

Both Scotty and Peter found jobs at Davidson College and both retired from there. She worked two decades as college’s housing director.

She also was a longtime local volunteer, serving on public boards commissions and on the board of the Ada Jenkins Center, a regional social services center in Davidson. She also acted in local theatrical productions with the Davidson Community Players.

In 2007, the town of Davidson gave Scotty its G. Jackson Burney Community Service Award. The award has been given annually since 2004 in memory of Mr. Burney and his contributions to the town.

via Scotty Hastie Nicholls, 95 | Obituaries.

Always Go to the Funeral, NPR, advice:  Definitely agree. My grandparents and parents taught me this. Also go visit the elderly.

I remember two things from the funeral circuit: bottomless dishes of free mints and my father saying on the ride home, “You can’t come in without going out, kids. Always go to the funeral.”

Sounds simple — when someone dies, get in your car and go to calling hours or the funeral. That, I can do. But I think a personal philosophy of going to funerals means more than that.

“Always go to the funeral” means that I have to do the right thing when I really, really don’t feel like it. I have to remind myself of it when I could make some small gesture, but I don’t really have to and I definitely don’t want to. I’m talking about those things that represent only inconvenience to me, but the world to the other guy. You know, the painfully under-attended birthday party. The hospital visit during happy hour. The Shiva call for one of my ex’s uncles. In my humdrum life, the daily battle hasn’t been good versus evil. It’s hardly so epic. Most days, my real battle is doing good versus doing nothing.

In going to funerals, I’ve come to believe that while I wait to make a grand heroic gesture, I should just stick to the small inconveniences that let me share in life’s inevitable, occasional calamity.

via Always Go to the Funeral : NPR.

Marconi Union, Weightless by Just Music Label:

[https://soundcloud.com/justmusiclabel/weightless-marconi-union]

via ▶ Marconi Union – Weightless by Just Music Label.

“In 2011, a group of sound therapists and a band called Marconi Union put their heads together to create, what they claim to be, the most relaxing song ever. “Weightless,” a track that maintains a constant 60 BPM, synchronizes listeners’ heart rates and brainwaves — the latter, a phenomenon known as entrainment. Sound a little far fetched? While more research is needed, one review of the literature found that “BWE,” as it’s known, could have a benefit when it comes to targeting stress.

“While listening, your heart rate gradually comes to match that beat,” says Lyz Cooper, founder of the British Academy of Sound Therapy. “The fall in heart rate also leads to a fall in blood pressure.”

▶ Marconi Union – Weightless by Just Music Label.


0 Responses to “8.21.13 … Morning has broken … Davidson’s matchmaker: Scotty Nicholls, RIP… Always Go to the Funeral … Marconi Union: Weightless by Just Music Label”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 630 other followers

August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

