19
Sep
13

9.19.13 … Will McAvoy: I call myself a Republican because I am one …

The Newsroom, Mediaite: I was disappointed overall, but the show has a few good lines …

Despite everything that happened on last night’s second season finale of The Newsroom, Aaron Sorkin’s drama about the world of cable news is still scheduled to return for a third season next year on HBO. But if this episode wasn’t intended to a possible series finale, I would be shocked. Sorkin wrapped up the loose ends so neatly in “Election Night Part 2″ that he made the audience realize we’d been watching a Shakespearean comedy all along, where everyone gets married in the end and everything works out perfectly, without a cliffhanger in sight.

After Will calls the presidential race for Obama and before the happy ending that has become more and more inevitable as the episode progresses, we get one last speech that almost rivals the American exceptionalism rant from the first episode of the series (brilliantly parodied by Funny or Die last week), the kind of speech that really gave the show so much promise from the beginning, to do for cable news what The West Wing did for presidential politcs.

With nothing left to lose Taylor asked Will if he only calls himself a Republican so he can retain the credibility to criticize the right. He answers her, on air:

“No, I call myself a Republican because I am one. I believe in market solutions and I believe in common sense realities and necessity to defend itself against a dangerous world. The problem is now I have to be homophobic. I have to count the number of times people go to church. I have to deny facts and think scientific research is a long con. I have to think poor people are getting a sweet ride. And I have to have such a stunning inferiority complex that I fear education and intellect in the 21st Century. Most of all, the biggest new requirement-–the only requirement-–is that I have to hate Democrats.”

After this, the good news starts flowing in waves.

via The Newsroom Recap – Season 2, Episode 9 – Season Finale | Mediaite.


0 Responses to “9.19.13 … Will McAvoy: I call myself a Republican because I am one …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

September 2013
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

