13
Oct
13

10.13.13 … on the bus … what does the brat pack have to do with it? …

Happy birthday to my Mom earlier this month.  🙂

I made my usual trip on the bus, on MY bus. And it was absolutely delightful trip.  I ventured down and was able to read and play on the computer on my way down.

When I got “home,”  I  had dinner with my mom on Tim’s patio. Tim was the former manager at the community, and he died at young age;  they named the patio after him. The patio is probably my favorite place to eat when the temperature is just right. We enjoyed an evening with a another couple. This coupled warned us that they were not talkative. My mom and I both looked each other all knowingly. We knew we could fill in the gaps of any quiet couple. So we got them talking about Africa and Sudoku puzzles, and by the end of the evening, we had a delightful conversation. It was a wonderful birthday.

The next morning we ran errands and had lunch with my brother and his family at in this Prime, a steak and sushi restaurant.  I chuckle because my mother will never add sushi to her repertoire of food items.

After that we ventured home and relaxed, and then went down for dinner and bingo. At bingo, we won $60 on a $20 investment. Not bad!

The next day, we again just spent time together and then headed out for dinner with the extended adult clan where at the dinner table we discussed such significant issues as our favorite scenes in movies. Mine was closing scene of Dirty Dancing. Then we discussed those situations where you’re watching a movie with  an audience, such as your grandparents, and it is not appropriate. We noted several, including Bull Durham and Flashdance.

via ▶ Dirty Dancing – Time of my Life (Final Dance) – High Quality – YouTube.

The end of that evening was the beginning of the end of the Braves. It was the first game of the series and it was a disaster. It was interesting because my mother was such a fan that it made me realize that I was really not a significant van and contrast.  Afterwards we watched Downton Abbey, a better use of our time.

And then I returned on the bus …


where I watched several episodes of  …

 Photo

Trivia fact:  Did you know that Elizabeth McGovern/Lady Cora was part of the Brat Pack?  And speaking of the Brat Pack, Dirty Dancing is a classic Brat Pack film.  🙂

The Brat Pack is an unofficial group of young actors in the 1980s who appeared in several teen-oriented comedies and romantic comedies and were dubbed as a group due to their popularity, hipness and frequent appearances together. The name is a play on the on the name Rat Pack, which was an official group in the 1960s. The actors who are frequently listed as members of the Brat Pack are:

Kevin Bacon

Matthew Broderick

Tom Cruise

Jon Cryer

John Cusack

Matt Dillon

Robert Downey, Jr.

Emilio Estevez

Jami Gertz

Jennifer Grey

Anthony Michael Hall

C. Thomas Howell

Diane Lane

Rob Lowe

Mary Stuart Masterson

Andrew McCarthy

Elizabeth McGovern

Demi Moore

Judd Nelson

Molly Ringwald

Ally Sheedy

Charlie Sheen

James Spader

Kiefer Sutherland

Patrick Swayze

Mare Winningham

via Brat Pack – The TV IV.


0 Responses to “10.13.13 … on the bus … what does the brat pack have to do with it? …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 628 other followers

October 2013
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

