14
Feb
14

2.14.14 … Catastrophic Winter Storm and Valentine’s Day … And an Earthquake, too.

2014 Catastrophic Winter Storm (2.12.14-2.14.13): Atlanta had fared both in reality and in the press very poorly from the storm of a  week ago … All I could think was “Good luck!”  And in the end it was my own capital that good the bad press from this storm.  Next storm …

This time, Georgia officials seem determined to get way out ahead of the weather.

With the National Weather Service warning that another blast of rain, sleet, snow and possibly ice is headed for the Deep South later today, authorities are urging Atlantans to be off the roads by early evening.

Georgia Gov. Declares State Of Emergency

— Noon, ET: “Gov. Deal has extended the state of emergency to include 31 additional counties, 45 total.” [Georgia has 159 counties.]

— 10:26 a.m. ET: “Gov. Deal declares weather-related state of emergency for 14 counties in North Georgia.”

— 9:40 a.m. ET: “Emergency applies to: Murray, Fannin, Gilmer, Union, Towns, Pickens, Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Cherokee, Forsyth, Hall, Banks and Jackson.”

(Via the governor’s Twitter page.)

And Gov. Nathan Deal, R, is specifically asking truckers to stay out of Atlanta’s “perimeter” — the area inside the loop around the city formed by Interstate 285.

Deal and other Georgia officials are trying to avoid, of course, a repeat of what happened the last week of January, when snow and ice hit Atlanta and thousands of drivers were forced to abandon their vehicles as roads became impassable, iced-over parking lots. While state and local officials later apologized for not moving faster to warn Atlantans of the approaching storm and to prepare for it, they also said that jackknifed trucks in particular were a major part of the problem during that storm.

via Avoid Atlanta Until Storm Passes, Governor Tells Truckers : The Two-Way : NPR.

So as the storm roared through Georgia and headed towards the Carolinas, my husband got on a plane for a 24-hour business trip.  And i was left to enjoy the storm with an empty nest and old pets.  I will admit it was quite strange, yet peaceful,  to experience a snow day in an empty nest …

As round 1 ended and round 2 was gearing up, I assumed my husband would be stuck in FL.  Instead his plane took off and headed home, just as the worst of the storm was hitting! All I could do was pray …  Godspeed!

So the flight landed and he managed to get the jeep home on very treacherous roads … After listening to the weather, I assumed we would be immobile for at least half a day.  But John ventured out early and said the side street was almost clear at 8 am.  HUH??? And the answer is: FIRST TIME EVER! My humble residential street (actually my humble side street) was so proud. Was it Char-Meck or a very kind neighbor? I’m guessing a neighbor! The plow fairies had arrived!

Photo: FIRST TIME EVER! My humble residential street (actually my humble side street) is so proud.  Was it Char-Meck or a very kind neighbor.  I'm guessing a neighbor! The plow fairies have arrived!

Of course this catastrophic storm was really just a significant storm.  It did remind me of another ice storm: the 1973 Atlanta Ice Storm.  Now that was a storm!

via ▶ Atlanta Ice Storm 1973 – YouTube.

This was the mother of all ice storms … dead of winter and no electricity for almost a week. We actually got ours back fairly early because a Georgia power exec lived down the street and he climbed the pole and turned it back on … there were no downed trees on our section of Brighton. At least that is what I remember!

 One of the most memorable and funnest weeks I remember. We had power and JQ spent the whole week at my house.

My dad worked for Ga Power. Our electricity came back on after one day. The neighbors who weren’t on our circuit kept calling to ask why. We invited them over to warm up and explained the triage process in which the easiest repairs were done first to restore power to as many people as possible. I wasn’t sure then if I really believed that, and I am still not sure

In our house in Covington for a week without power. Thank goodness for the gas logs in my bedroom.

We had a tree thru the den…

So maybe it’s the age that you experience the storm that makes it memorable.

We slept in the den by the fireplace I recall.

My dad finally worked his contacts and got us a hotel room on about day 4.

I remember this one very well! We slept on the floor in front of the fireplace for 4 nights. Showered at Georgia state u. Lost a lot of pine trees too!

Mr. McManus across the street was ex-Chairman of the Southern Co. Our power was back on within hours

1979 Davidson Winter Storm, snow art: Since Davidson is projected to get a foot of snow, _____  is having a text conversation this evening with several of our classmates about the very NOT pc snow sculpture created during a similar storm in the winter of 1979. I have a snow globe (hidden in my closet) featuring said monument and given as an expression of appreciation to my dear husband at our 25th reunion. I think dear _____ was the classmate responsible for this memento. I wonder if any such snow monuments will be created this snow storm.

Remember it all well.

How about a picture of the snow globe?

It won’t photograph well.

Um. I’ve seen that NOT pc snow sculpture in a certain DC yearbook. I was shocked. Just. Shocked. Did not know that Presby kids knew that much about anatomy.

We are part of the reformed tradition … so maybe Davidson is just a liberal arts “reform” school.

I remember Dr. Polley coming into our Hebrew Prophets class (the day after a mid-term) and going an epic speech about how disappointed he was in all of us. Our first thought was, “O God! WE’VE ALL FAILED THE MID-TERM!”. Then he went on to say this, “Have I taught you NOTHING? THERE IS, AT THIS VERY MOMENT, A CANAANITE FERTILITY SYMBOL ON THIS CAMPUS!” Why aren’t any of you out there preaching about it?

Great memories!!!

That Phoebe always was a bad one!

you have added a new dimension to the legend.

The photo of Price Zimmermann inspecting the snow sculpture was priceless

Did you remember that or did you go pull the yearbook?

I remembered it in the yearbook. My yearbooks disappeared at some point in a move. So oddly I have my late uncle’s yearbooks from the late 1940s but not my own.

And I have to say as someone who ate at PAX I am offended that the weather gods have appropriated the name for the storm. Highly offended. So offended I am going to get my remaining PAX shot glass out…

I remember that lecture too — especially its deadpan delivery. I also remember that the groundskeepers were one their way to knock down the sculpture until Dr. Spencer told them to leave it there.

Oddly the online page from Q&C almost, ALMOST, whites out the picture that you mention. https://archive.org/stream/quipscranks1979davi…

I remember that someone told me that they were required to run a screen over the photo.

understandably … I am amazed that it was allowed in the yearbook. Was the original yearbook screened? I am also amazed that it was not blocked online.

 

I hope so! It really just wouldn’t be college without it! Isn’t this the 35th anniversary! I think a reincarnation is called for!

 

 

Thanks for putting this back up…I wanted to show my husband! I had completely forgotten about that snow sculpture…Oddly enough the biology profs didn’t make too much of it so I’m glad to hear about Dr. Polley’s remarks.

I think the comment that Dr. Spencer instructed the grounds crew to leave it is also interesting.

That was a great statue. There’s a picture of it in one of our yearbooks.

 

 

Sledding and lemonade makers:

What better way to celebrate winter’s blessings than to indulge in a fun treat like a snow margarita. These super simple “Snow-garitas” are wonderfully slushy and smooth without even using a blender. Use the quick and simple version if you’re a margarita newbie looking for a quick fix or try the authentic version for a refined flavor and superior texture.

via How to make Snow Margaritas.

Hah!!

So you want to keep riding even though there’s snow on the ground, but you don’t have the cash to buy a true fat bike. That’s where the Ktrak Snowmobile Bike Kit comes in handy.

The kit turns your mountain bike into a human-powered snowmobile. Replace your front wheel with a ski and the rear one with the snow track—voilà, you now have a snowbike that’s ready for those deep powder days.

The kit is compatible with most standard mountain bikes, according to the company.

$612, ktrak.es

via The Ktrak Snowmobile Bike Kit | Covet | OutsideOnline.com.

Now: top sledding spots, culled from reader suggestions and places Observer photographers have found abundantly photogenic in the past:

Mid-Charlotte: Latta Park and the hill behind St. Patrick’s in Dilworth.

Northward: Cordelia Park in the NoDa region, and Huntersville Athletic Park.

To the south: The corner of Sedley and Foxcroft Roads, in the Sharon Road area.

Westward: Crowders Mountain Golf Course, No. 2 green (Sparrow Springs Road).

via Best snow in a decade means one thing: Sledding! | CharlotteObserver.com.

And one of my favorite snow related tweets …

Ed Bott @edbott 1m

BREAKING: Punxsutawney Phil joins Federal Witness Protection Program

And now on to Valentine’s Day … Is there a link between our storm and the VD? (A nice segway, don’t you think?)  Well, yes, according to the Farmers’ Almanac. In my opinion, this was  as  good an explanation as any!

Photo: The Full Moon is rising on Valentine's Day (Friday, Feb. 14)! Known as the Snow Moon, this month often brings the most snow (relate, anyone?). It rises around sunset and sets around sunrise, the only night in the month when the Moon is in the sky all night long. For our mobile fans, download our Full Moon Finder app here: www.almanac.com/app/full-moon-finder

The Full Moon is rising on Valentine’s Day (Friday, Feb. 14)! Known as the Snow Moon, this month often brings the most snow (relate, anyone?). It rises around sunset and sets around sunrise, the only night in the month when the Moon is in the sky all night long. For our mobile fans, download our Full Moon Finder app here: http://www.almanac.com/app/full-moon-finder

I started my VD Week off with a fun conversation about VD only to be later informed by my spouse that he was offended by the conversation. I  never learn … This is what I said …

I do not want a pajama-gram or a Vermont Teddy Bear for Valentine’s Day. I would rather have flowers, chocolates and cards. Just so you know.

…  But not cards or flowers from Food Lion bought at midnight!!

…  How about a Teddy graham?

Like I said … chocolates!

I also commented, hoping my children would take note … and they did not …

Mail your grandmother a Valentine today. I really think they enjoy them the most. I wish I could send one to mine.

However, this was one of my favorite digital valentines.  Why?  because it contrasted nicely with a FB conversation which I have quoted, omiting names of course … Given that I am one of the 1141 couples, I immediately thought, “So should I write them a check today?”  🙂

Photo

Did you know that you are part of a remarkable group of 1141 Davidson alumni couples?

And here is the FB conversation …

As the father of two daughters, one of whom graduated college last May and is doing just fine, thanks, and another who is getting ready to graduate this May, it was all I could do to keep from throwing-up while reading this.

So what’s a smart girl to do? Start looking early and stop wasting time dating men who aren’t good for you: bad boys, crazy guys and married men.

College is the best place to look for your mate. It is an environment teeming with like-minded, age-appropriate single men with whom you already share many things. You will never again have this concentration of exceptional men to choose from.

When you find a good man, take it slow. Casual sex is irresistible to men, but the smart move is not to give it away. If you offer intimacy without commitment, the incentive to commit is eliminated. The grandmotherly message of yesterday is still true today: Men won’t buy the cow if the milk is free.

Can you meet brilliant, marriageable men after college? Yes, but just not that many of them. Once you’re living off campus and in the real world, you’ll be stunned by how smart the men are not. You’ll no doubt meet some eligible guys in your workplace, but it’s hazardous to get romantically involved with co-workers.

You may not be ready for marriage in your early 20s (or maybe you are), but keep in touch with the men that you meet in college, especially the super smart ones. They’ll probably do very well for themselves, and their desirability will only increase after graduation.

Not all women want marriage or motherhood, but if you do, you have to start listening to your gut and avoid falling for the P.C. feminist line that has misled so many young women for years. There is nothing incongruous about educated, ambitious women wanting to be wives and mothers. Don’t let anyone tell you that these traditional roles are retrograde; they are perfectly natural and even wonderful. And if you fail to identify “the one” while you’re in college, don’t worry—there’s always graduate school.

via Susan Patton: A Little Valentine’s Day Straight Talk – WSJ.com.

LOL! Since acquiring my new daughter through marriage last year, I’ve been having to sensitize myself to stuff I never gave a second thought to with my three sons…

eep. makes college seem a little… predatory, don’t it?

Didn’t you know you should have been pursuing your MRS degree, honey?

Hahaha…sigh..bwahahahaha…whew…deep breath…hahahahah*snort*hahaha…hahahahah…

I wonder what the post-grad employment rate is for ladies with that degree…

Employment? Oh, you poor dear, you’re clearly misguided.

I agree with the throw up comment, but also find it interesting that I did just what the article recommended, as did your wife. I have never been around a finer group of eligible gentlemen than at Davidson. But I did not go to college for that purpose, and the article is insulting in that regard to women of my generation and of today. It’s also insulting to men. I usually enjoy the WSJ, but I think this is inappropriate for Valentine’s Day … Unless you want to stir up some controversy to increase readership and that makes the paper a cheap tabloid.

I like the part about eligible gentlemen at Davidson…

Don’t worry. There is always graduate school. Dear lord.

When I read this article, I immediately thought of the Queenies who came to every Davidson fraternity party possible. I also thought about how they were outclassed by some of the Davidson women like J and D (y’all do realize that every Fiji…See More

Very thoughtful comment, …

A “response” in The Washington Post. Pretty funny, if I do say: http://www.washingtonpost.com/…/extra-straight-talk…/

And I got a good laugh when I ventured in to my local grocery at 5 pm on VD …

Photo: Follow-up to my earlier FB conversation (to which my husband took offense) ...

Follow-up to my earlier FB conversation (to which my husband took offense) … — at Harris Teeter.

 So if you were wondering: He gave surf and turf by one of the best home cooks, lovely roses and chocolate covered strawberries.  I gave a card, candle, ben & jerry’s ice cream and redbox movie. Since I was picking for him, I chose Captain Phillips (boats, guns and pirates, but no naked women or horses). It was actually a fairly good compromise movie.

And I loved this romantic effort!

Photo: A man photographed a red heart in front of the Eiffel Tower. More photos of the day: http://on.wsj.com/1mhdvZH</p><br /> <p>Credit: Getty Images

A man photographed a red heart in front of the Eiffel Tower. More photos of the day: http://on.wsj.com/1mhdvZH

And to close, this Valentine’s Day meme … It’s always good to have an historical perspective!

Photo

Happy Valentine’s Day!!

And did I mention there was an earthquake? Nature can be devastating, can it not?


0 Responses to “2.14.14 … Catastrophic Winter Storm and Valentine’s Day … And an Earthquake, too.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 630 other followers

February 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

