05
Mar
14

3.5.14 … Speakng of Jesus … (and I have a taker for the 4 boxes of Girl Scout Cookies :), so I can give up Girl Scout Cookies) …

Ash Wednesday, Lent, YouTube:

via ▶ Ash Wednesday & Lent in Two Minutes – YouTube.

20 Things to Give Up for Lent:

With that said, I want to offer up 20 things you might consider giving up this Lent. And these are things to give up not just for Lent, but for the rest of your life.

Guilt – I am loved by Jesus and he has forgiven my sins. Today is a new day and the past is behind.

Fear – God is on my side. In him I am more than a conqueror. (see Romans 8)

The need to please everyone – I can’t please everyone anyways. There is only one I need to strive to please.

Envy – I am blessed. My value is not found in my possessions, but in my relationship with my Heavenly Father.

Impatience – God’s timing is the perfect timing.

Sense of entitlement – The world does not owe me anything. God does not owe me anything. I live in humility and grace.

Bitterness and Resentment – The only person I am hurting by holding on to these is myself.

Blame – I am not going to pass the buck. I will take responsibility for my actions.

Gossip and Negativity – I will put the best construction on everything when it comes to other people. I will also minimize my contact with people who are negative and toxic bringing other people down.

Comparison – I have my own unique contribution to make and there is no one else like me.

Fear of failure – You don’t succeed without experiencing failure. Just make sure you fail forward.

A spirit of poverty – Believe with God that there is always more than enough and never a lack

Feelings of unworthiness – You are fearfully and wonderfully made by your creator. (see Psalm 139)

Doubt – Believe God has a plan for you that is beyond anything you could imagine. The future is brighter than you could ever realize.

Self-pity – God comforts us in our sorrow so that we can comfort others with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.

Retirement – As long as you are still breathing, you are here for a reason. You have a purpose to influence others for Christ. That does not come to an end until the day we die.

Excuses – A wise man once said, if you need an excuse, any excuse will do.

Lack of counsel – Wise decisions are rarely made in a vacuum.

Pride – Blessed are the humble.

Worry – God is in control and worrying will not help.

via 20 Things to Give Up for Lent.

Diogo Morgado Puts the Carnal in Incarnate But Was Jesus Really A Babe?, The Daily Beast:  Speaking of Jesus …

How many new and different versions of the Jesus story can the medium of film accommodate? Judging by Mark Burnett and Roma Downey’s new film Son of God, not too many: this is the traditional, predictable, stripped-down niceness taught in Sunday schools and nativity plays. But for a bare-bones presentation of Jesus, there sure seems to be a lot of flesh on screen—and what attractive flesh it is. With carefully styled hair, omnipresent smile, and sparkly eyes that say, “I see into your soul,” Diogo Morgado’s Jesus really puts the carnal in incarnate.

It’s not just me, I assure you: the Portuguese actor playing the Son of God has inspired the twitter hashtag #HotJesus. CNN anchor Carol Costello confessed to “gawking” at the actor. When CNN is getting hot and bothered for Jesus, that in itself is newsworthy.

via Diogo Morgado Puts the Carnal in Incarnate, But Was Jesus Really A Babe? – The Daily Beast.

Fulton Co. GA, Campbellton GA, history:

As of January 1, 1932, the Georgia General Assembly folded a bankrupt Campbell County south of Atlanta, of which Campbellton was the County seat, and (also bankrupt) Milton County to the north into Fulton County, then and today among the richest and most populous Counties in the State, to form the odd, elongated, and unwieldy County that’s provided services to all its residents, businesses and taxpayers for more than 80 years.

via Jim Brown.

Together, they were able to use the artifacts to locate key points, including mills, a town square and a city hall building, proving that Campbellton was once an active city in the south Fulton area.

“We’re aware of two different theories as to why the town didn’t survive,” said Brown. “Many early historians state or gather from opinions that the railroad bypassed Campbellton because the residents were against the railroad marring or interrupting their tranquil town or that engineers simply found the land around Fairburn better for construction.”

Brown and Champion speculate that many Campbellton residents literally rolled their houses and buildings, including the city hall building now located in Fairburn, down the nearby Chattahoochee River.

via Neighbor Newspapers – Lost city of south Fulton at center of history mystery.

Heroin in Charlotte, Charlotte Magazine:  Heartbreaking …

“I’m not embarassed of my son,” Deanna Uhler says. “I<br /><br /><br /><br /> was proud of him ’til the last breath he took.” After he died, his girlfriend painted his portrait and gave it to Deanna.<br /><br /><br /><br />

Alex Uhler was a straight-A student, an Eagle Scout, and earned a black belt in Taekwondo. And he was a heroin addict. Why are kids like him, from Charlotte’s wealthy neighborhoods and good schools, turning to the deadliest drugs?

via Heroin in Charlotte – Charlotte Magazine – March 2014 – Charlotte, NC.


0 Responses to “3.5.14 … Speakng of Jesus … (and I have a taker for the 4 boxes of Girl Scout Cookies :), so I can give up Girl Scout Cookies) …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 628 other followers

March 2014
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

