06
Mar
14

3.6.14 … As I said, at least I am not the guy on the little yellow scooter. I hope he made it home safely …

“Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2014 Lenten Labyrinth Walks (2 of 40), Avondale Presbyterian Church – Charlotte:
Well, at least I’m not the guy on the little yellow scooter.  That’s my mantra as I head out to “walk.”
It’s 39° and raining heavily. I have made a commitment  to walk,  and I must at least try not  to give up because of a little rain, albeit a cold rain.
IMG_9157
It is rare that I am so anxious to get the walk over with, that I will do anything, including walking in a cold rain. If it weren’t both cold and rainy, I would have waited and taken an evening walk.  But today, in order to get it done, that is exactly what I did. No waiting around. I walked in the rain.
IMG_9158
IMG_9159 IMG_9161
IMG_9165
A couple of things were noteworthy:  the chimes were clanging loudly, the sound of  raindrops on my umbrella and a completely new sound on the labyrinth – the rustling sound of pine needles scraping as I walked with my umbrella under a tree,
IMG_9162 IMG_9166 IMG_9168
Candidly, there was not much  spiritual contemplation as I walked.  But then again sometimes the real world interferes. And there is value in putting time aside. So after finishing I was glad for the time and glad to be done. But I must admit that that was the quickest walk on a labyrinth I have ever taken. There is nothing colder than a cold rain. And this is a typical winter in the SE.
And of course I wasn’t dressed for the walk.   I love this bench … which was even more off balance than last time I visited.  I was glad it was not a good day to  sit.
 IMG_9164
As I said, at least I am not the guy on the little yellow scooter.  I hope he made it home safely.
Blessings …
After my walk and return drive home (and in the warmth and comfort of that  home), I started a devotional book that my sister gave to me at breakfast this morning, Catherine Marshall’s The Helper.  i’m interested to see where the Holy Spirit takes me.

0 Responses to “3.6.14 … As I said, at least I am not the guy on the little yellow scooter. I hope he made it home safely …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 628 other followers

March 2014
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

