20
Mar
14

3.20.14 … “It is important to keep a still place in the “marketplace.” This still place is where God can dwell and speak to us. It also is the place from where we can speak in a healing way to all the people we meet in our busy days. Without that still space we start spinning. We become driven people, running all over the place without much direction. But with that stillness God can be our gentle guide in everything we think, say, or do.”

“Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2014 Lenten Labyrinth Walks,  (14/40), The Cathedral of St. Phillips – Atlanta, vernal equinox:
As I am driving south on Peachtree Rd. approaching the Cathedral my right, I see the beautiful cherry trees in full bloom. There are two colors: a pale pink and a deep pink.  As I turn into the parking lot, I stopped to take a picture. I realize there’s a woman with a very professional-looking camera also taking pictures. I realize that there is at least one tree with both shades of thinking the same tree. I did not realize that was possible.
photo 3 photo 2 photo 1
I laughed as I got out of my car … I felt like someone was watching over me:
photo 4
The labyrinth this morning is in the shade and is  still damp from the morning dew.  It is cool, but not cold. The birds are chirping loudly. Hello, Spring!
 photo 2-1
 photo 1
Atlanta is the perfect place to experience the first day of spring. In many places, it is hardly ever spring-like. Atlanta almost always shines on the vernal equinox.photo 3-1

As I approach the labyrinth, I see and hear a group of three men who appear to be about my age, talking loudly and laughing, more like guffawing, and smoking. They have deep Southern voices. I hear bits and pieces of their conversation. One is talking about his mother and paying taxes. I guess it’s that time of year. Rick is one.  As they leave, one says, “bye-bye.”  One whistles as he walks away.
photo 5-1
A few from the path …
 image-3
image-2 image-4
   photo 4-1    photo 5
I shared this space today.  The first to join me was an attractive 30-ish woman. She walks once a month. She did not want to chat, and I respect that. She walks the labyrinth without her shoes in black tights. I wonder if she is/was a dancer. She is very intentional about how she walks and where she places her feet. It is peaceful to watch her.
As I leave, a rough-looking man walks up. He immediately tells me that his husband of 4 years beat cancer today and he is taking a “serenity walk” to celebrate.  “Thank you Jesus.” He mentions his 18-year-old son.  He attempts to talk to the woman.  He tells her he has a walk at his home in Charleston. He only walks about 2 circuits and then walks away. I look back and see that he is carrying 2 trash bags with him. Is he homeless? Is anything true? What is his reality?  I hope he found serenity for a moment. Since he used the word “serenity”, I am wondering if he is in AA.
image-5
As I went through my e-mail this morning, I found this Henri Nouwen devotional.  Since it focuses on my  favorite Psalm, Psalm 46:10, I will reprint it here:
A Still Place in the Market
“Be still and acknowledge that I am God” (Psalm 46:10).  These are words to take with us in our busy lives.  We may think about stillness in contrast to our noisy world.  But perhaps we can go further and keep an inner stillness even while we carry on business, teach, work in construction, make music, or organise meetings.
It is important to keep a still place in the “marketplace.”  This still place is where God can dwell and speak to us.  It also is the place from where we can speak in a healing way to all the people we meet in our busy days.  Without that still space we start spinning.  We become driven people, running all over the place without much direction.  But with that stillness God can be our gentle guide in everything we think, say, or do.
As I drive back from the labyrinth, I bypass busy Peachtree and take one of my favorite Atlanta drives, Habersham Road. I am amazed,  as always,  at how gorgeous Atlanta is in late March/early April. The daffodils are out as well as the pansies. You could not ask for a more beautiful drive.
And I see my first yard sign for my brothers campaign (although I think I am not technically in GA’s 11th Congressional District.  I am very proud of him for taking this risk.
Enjoy Spring!
image

0 Responses to “3.20.14 … “It is important to keep a still place in the “marketplace.” This still place is where God can dwell and speak to us. It also is the place from where we can speak in a healing way to all the people we meet in our busy days. Without that still space we start spinning. We become driven people, running all over the place without much direction. But with that stillness God can be our gentle guide in everything we think, say, or do.””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

March 2014
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

