01
Apr
14

4.1.14 … “It is solved by walking.” What is IT? You want to find out, then you will have to do your own walking.” …

“Solvitur  Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2014 Lenten labyrinth walks,   Avondale Presbyterian Church – Charlotte (24/40):
image-2

I feel special today. I have a friend and fellow Davidsonian  who has agreed to walk with me. 

We venture out fromTMBS, and I take her to Avondale because it is both a full Chartres labyrinth and in a very quiet garden. Of course, I laugh at the irony  because I (we?) can hear hammers loudly at a nearby construction site.  She is a music person immediately comments on the chimes.

image-1
It is very warm and sunny.
image
But I do not mind because it is a perfect day on the labyrinth and this one  provides some shade.  I am excited to see the trees budding.  Every day there is a little more green!
image-8image image-4
image-3
I contemplate the celtic prayer:
God ahead, God behind
God be on the path I wind.
God above, God below,
God be everywhere I go.
A Celtic Prayer
On one of the information sheets, I find a  Barbara Brown Taylor quote:
“St. Augustine of Hippo said, “It is solved by walking.” What is IT? You want to find out, then you will have to do your own walking.” ( Barbara Brown Taylor)

And I close with this prayer from the info sheets: 
 Lord, hear my prayer I am looking for peace and peace that only you can help me find. I lay down all my distractions at this moment in order to walk and talk with you. Be my companion, my strength, my God. I will quiet my mind. I will be strong, I will listen to your voice. Amen
And thanks for sharing this time and space with me, CO!
image-5
Someone has transcribed the info sheets from Avondale …
image-7
image-10 image-9
image-6

0 Responses to “4.1.14 … “It is solved by walking.” What is IT? You want to find out, then you will have to do your own walking.” …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

April 2014
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

