09
Apr
14

4.9.14 … “if I could just find the right night lights to leave on.” – Barbara Brown Taylor …

“Solvitur  Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2014 Lenten Labyrinth Walks,   Myers Park Baptist Church – Charlotte (30 /40)IMG_9604

Before I walked, I opened my new book, Barbara Brown Taylor’s Learning to Walk in the Dark.
IMG_9607
I loved this …
If I had my way, I would eliminate everything from chronic back pain to the fear of the devil from my life and the lives of those I love — if I could just find the right night lights to leave on.
Just from the title, I know that I’m going to get some candles and do a nighttime labyrinth walk in the next 10 days. I just need to.
I always find comfort in hearing Queens University’s bell tower chimes as I walk. It is now 3 PM.  I would love to live near  a bell tower.
When I left the house this morning, everything was sunny.  But by the time I got to the labyrinth it was cooler and windy.
IMG_9603
I first went to Wednesday Worship at First Presbyterian Church.
IMG_9600IMG_9601When I make myself go, I am always glad I did. This week Erika Funk preached on  Crying Out to God.  I liked her comments on “stepping into God’s silence.” My personal study and the church study coincided.
And Penn, Katherine and Erika, I may get a measuring tape out … I think the church’s lawn would be a perfect place for a labyrinth!
IMG_9602
As I prepared to walk, I realized that I am a little more relaxed today. My son who had the root canal is recovering nicely and has returned to Atlanta to his volunteer job on my brothers campaign. I’m quite relieved that he came home and had the dental work done here so that his own dentist was doing the work on his is very expensive crowns.   My husband is recovering from his outpatient surgery.  All good.
And then I walked …
IMG_9605
IMG_9611
IMG_9609
IMG_9613 IMG_9615
IMG_9619 IMG_9620
Did I mention the ants …
IMG_9621
The flowering trees and bushes are about to pop.   I walked here five days go and I did not notice them. Spring is an amazing time.
IMG_9612
IMG_9623 IMG_9624 IMG_9625
Yesterday at TMBS, I read a piece about home.

In a fascinating recent essay in The London Review of Books, called “On Not Going Home,” James Wood relates how he “asked Christopher Hitchens, long before he was terminally ill, where he would go if he had only a few weeks to live. Would he stay in America? ‘No, I’d go to Dartmoor, without a doubt,’ he told me. It was the landscape of his childhood.”

It was the landscape, in other words, of unfiltered experience, of things felt rather than thought through, of the world in its beauty absorbed before it is understood, of patterns and sounds that lodge themselves in some indelible place in the psyche and call out across the years.

That question is worth repeating: If I had only a few weeks to live, where would I go? It is a good way of getting rid of the clutter that distracts or blinds. I will get to that in a moment.

via In Search of Home – NYTimes.com.

And I realize that one of the things that I associate with my childhood home, Atlanta GA, is spring. It has the most glorious spring of any place I’ve ever seen. And every time I return there during spring,  I feel the same again. Even though Charlotte is extremely beautiful in spring,  It’s spring is nothing in comparison, in my opinion, to Atlanta. I remember a comment by a friend who has spent her adult life in Nashville TN, and she feels the same way. Nashville does not compare. I think it’s a concept of home and when you first experience something.

I see balloons caught in a tree. I smile …

IMG_9614
Cheers!

 


0 Responses to “4.9.14 … “if I could just find the right night lights to leave on.” – Barbara Brown Taylor …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

April 2014
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

