20
Apr
14

4.20.14 … The awakening of creation … listen … allow the sounds to speak … Crucified, Dead, Buried, Hell … Not the last day. The first day of forever. Unending life. Alleluia! … God “easters” us. Allow the sounds to speak and become Easter for us … awestruck at the grandeur of grace that is the heart of God …

“Solvitur  Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2014 Lenten Labyrinth Walks,   Avondale Presbyterian Church – Charlotte (40/40), Easter Sunrise Service, “Eastertime”, creation, chimes:
IMG_9804
IMG_9801
For the third year, I attended the Easter Sunrise Service at Avondale.  This year it was on the labyrinth.
As I walked into the Sacred Garden, I enjoyed watching the piper warm up.  I noticed for the first time that some of the chime plates have names engraved on them. The one that caught my attention is engraved with “Erica Ely.”
IMG_9798 IMG_9800
IMG_9805
It was cool and damp and I watched a dad give up his blazer to his two teenage daughters who were dressed in spring dresses with sandals.  I sat next to a lovely woman who wore a hat.  I wish I was a hat person.  Hats are perfect for Easter.
IMG_9806
The Service was again wonderful …
“Amazing Grace” on bagpipes
Reading of the Easter Message – Mark 16:1-14
He is Risen
Hymn: “Jesus Christ is Risen Today”
The awakening of creation … listen … allow the sounds to speak …
Our Early Morning Creed: Crucified, Dead, Buried, Hell
Eastertime: The appearance of women – amateur morticians, trinity of despair, sad, desperate; shivering against the cold.  He has risen. Real as real.  Not the last day. The first day of forever. Unending life.  Alleluia!
God “easters” us. Allow the sounds to speak and become Easter for us.
An Offering of Praise:  Thinking of Mitchell … Chimes (I now know the chimes are in memory of children in this faith community who have died, this week two-year old Mitchell has died). anywhere on the grounds when you attune your should to the chimes, you can hear them.  Your presence here breaks through the death.  Why else does creation unfold in the springing of life?
Litany: The Lord is Risen Indeed … The Lord is Risen, Alleluia.
“Highland Cathedral”
Afterwards I walked while several men and one boy removed the chairs … I loved talking to the boy who was helping his dad.  
IMG_9802IMG_9807 IMG_9809 IMG_9810 IMG_9811
The bench that was off kilter finally collapsed.  
IMG_9808
And I learned what the concrete thing was at the side of the labyrinth.  It is the base for the cross that they will fill with flowers at the 9 am service.
IMG_9812 IMG_9813
And then they shared their wonderful Easter breakfast and hot coffee!
IMG_9814 IMG_9815
By 7:45 I was back home.  I returned to quiet; my husband was doing his daily puzzle, my old dogs were fed and back lazing around, my college-age daughter was still slumbering.  Some day my family will want to share this with me.  Some day …
As I type this, I receive James Howell’s email …
“But on Easter, we want to stop, and simply be awestruck at the grandeur of grace that is the heart of God – and like the first witnesses to Easter, we ask the risen Lord what tasks we might fulfill in the wake of it all.”
From my walks, I have discerned my tasks.  I ask your prayers that I might fulfill them.  Thank you for sharing my walks.
I will be watching and listening for Mitchell’s chime when I visit this Sacred Garden in the future.
Happy Easter!

0 Responses to “4.20.14 … The awakening of creation … listen … allow the sounds to speak … Crucified, Dead, Buried, Hell … Not the last day. The first day of forever. Unending life. Alleluia! … God “easters” us. Allow the sounds to speak and become Easter for us … awestruck at the grandeur of grace that is the heart of God …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

April 2014
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

