20
Feb
15

2.20.15 … Step 6: We came to see that, despite often feeling stressed by the demands of life, taking time every day to be in stillness, provides a “peace” that is essential to our well-being. We are more present, available and willing to see the mystery of serendipity and coincidence. We are loved / The Red Boot Coalition …

“Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2015 Lenten Labyrinth Walks 3/40,  Avondale Presbyterian Church – Charlotte NC, Step 6: We are loved / The Red Boot Coalition:

Chimes … Beautiful today. It was 25°, but it’s unbelievably sunny, so it did not feel cold.
IMG_2208
 IMG_2206
IMG_2207
IMG_2209
IMG_2211 IMG_2210 IMG_2214 IMG_2213 IMG_2212
On the phone while walking … But this friend keeps me centered so I enjoyed the  conversation at the center.
Be still … I focused on Psalm 46:10. But I used it for thinking of it in this way as I just saw this video at a class on Tuesday a week ago …  Be Still meditation … http://www.theworkofthepeople.com/be-still
There was ice on the labyrinth in the spots where the shade normally is. That made for interesting contrast as well as an interesting extra effort as you walk across the ice. It made the walk very intentional at times.
iPhone expired; therefore there are very few pics.
I also reviewed in my mind the Red Boot Coalition meeting that I had attended this morning.   We focused on Step 6.

Step 6: We are loved

We came to see that, despite often feeling stressed by the demands of life, taking time every day to be in stillness, provides a “peace” that is essential to our well-being. We are more present, available and willing to see the mystery of serendipity and coincidence.

We are loved.

via Step 6: We are loved / The Red Boot Coalition.

I had so many thoughts in my head. These were some of the things we talked about in connection with Step 6 …

Paulo Coelho, The Alchemy of Pilgrimage | On Being:

PAULO COELHO —

The Alchemy of Pilgrimage

The Brazilian lyricist Paulo Coelho is best known for his book, The Alchemist — which has been on the New York Times bestseller list for over 300 weeks. His fable-like stories turn life, love, writing, and reading into pilgrimage. In a rare conversation, we meet the man behind the writings and explore what he’s touched in modern people.

via Paulo Coelho — The Alchemy of Pilgrimage | On Being.

http://bit.ly/Y8wMm3

Oliver Sacks on Learning He Has Terminal Cancer, NYTimes.com:  I am not sure what impressed me most about this essay … just read the whole thing.

And yet, one line from Hume’s essay strikes me as especially true: “It is difficult,” he wrote, “to be more detached from life than I am at present.”

Over the last few days, I have been able to see my life as from a great altitude, as a sort of landscape, and with a deepening sense of the connection of all its parts. This does not mean I am finished with life.

On the contrary, I feel intensely alive, and I want and hope in the time that remains to deepen my friendships, to say farewell to those I love, to write more, to travel if I have the strength, to achieve new levels of understanding and insight.

This will involve audacity, clarity and plain speaking; trying to straighten my accounts with the world. But there will be time, too, for some fun (and even some silliness, as well).

I feel a sudden clear focus and perspective. There is no time for anything inessential. I must focus on myself, my work and my friends. I shall no longer look at “NewsHour” every night. I shall no longer pay any attention to politics or arguments about global warming.

via Oliver Sacks on Learning He Has Terminal Cancer – NYTimes.com.

And this is a great reinterpretation of Psalm 46:10Be Still and know that I am God.

Barbara Brown Taylor’s book on Darkness:

I loved this …

If I had my way, I would eliminate everything from chronic back pain to the fear of the devil from my life and the lives of those I love — if I could just find the right night lights to leave on.

Just from the title, I know that I’m going to get some candles and do a nighttime labyrinth walk in the next 10 days. I just need to.

via Barbara Brown Taylor’s Learning to Walk in the Dark | Dennard’s Clipping Service.

Dealing with the Psychological and Spiritual Aspects of Menopause: menopause midlife spiritual …  Dealing with the Psychological and Spiritual Aspects of Menopause: Finding … – Dana E King, Melissa Hunter, Jerri Harris, Harold G Koenig – Google Books.

Enjoy your day!!

 


0 Responses to “2.20.15 … Step 6: We came to see that, despite often feeling stressed by the demands of life, taking time every day to be in stillness, provides a “peace” that is essential to our well-being. We are more present, available and willing to see the mystery of serendipity and coincidence. We are loved / The Red Boot Coalition …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

February 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

