23
Feb
15

2.23.15 … dedicated to the memory of the twenty children and six staff members from Sandy Hook Elementary who lost their lives on December 14, 2012 … “Blessed are the pure of heart, for they shall see God.” Matthew 5:8 …

“Solvitur  Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2015 Lenten Labyrinth Walks 5/40, All Saints Episcopal Church – Gastonia  NC:
 
IMG_2246 IMG_2248
IMG_2249
I have not been here since 2013. And I’m here in the middle of what is still very much winter. There are big piles of leaves covering part of the path and an empty Hornets coffee cup.
IMG_2251
 IMG_2250
I had forgotten about the butterfly theme. It is on the bench as well as on several markers. In addition there is a paver that says, “peace be with you.” And it is with those thoughts, the butterfly thing and the peace be with you prayer, that I am making my walk today.
IMG_2244
IMG_2247
This is one of the few abbreviated Chartres style labyrinths that I actually enjoy. I don’t know why, but it makes this one fun to be able to walk it in under 10 minutes and it is only 10 minutes off the highway. I can walk it very quickly. I noticed the pavers fit in the center perfectly. And the sun is setting and shining on my face. It was a nice thought to walk with.
IMG_2254
IMG_2253
 IMG_2252
I hear the birds and I see one soaring in the sky.
Most of the room rosemary around the boundaries are in good shape, however, there are two that are absolutely dead. There is a little work for the labyrinth keepers. I love that there are box gardens over to the side. I wonder who uses them. Are they community gardens with the food raised being  donated? Or are they garden plots  provided to members of the congregation.
IMG_2245
 And, of course, whenever I see rosemary …

OPHELIA: There’s rosemary, that’s for remembrance; pray, love, remember: and there is pansies. that’s for thoughts.

via Hamlet by William Shakespeare: Act 4. Scene V.

And then as I leave , I read the garden’s marker: Dedicated to the  memory of Sandy Hook … ‘Blessed are the pure of heart, for they shall see God.’  Matthew 5:8″
IMG_2243

0 Responses to “2.23.15 … dedicated to the memory of the twenty children and six staff members from Sandy Hook Elementary who lost their lives on December 14, 2012 … “Blessed are the pure of heart, for they shall see God.” Matthew 5:8 …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 630 other followers

February 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728