01
Mar
15

3.1.15 … Definitely thinking I was going to regret this walk … But as with most of my walks, there were no regrets …

“Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2015 Lenten Labyrinth Walks 11/40, Morningstar Lutheran Chapel Matthews NC: Definitely thinking I was going to regret this walk. It was raining, but not too hard, but enough that I stopped at target and bought an umbrella before I came.But it is NEW labyrinth, installed in November of 2014 …

 

IMG_2405

And it was cold … and there was ice on the leaves of the flowering bushes and even on the lock up the gate.IMG_2403
IMG_2420
Morningstar Lutheran is an old church built in 1908, white frame and quite charming. It has a traditional red doors of a Lutheran Church.
IMG_2430
IMG_2432 IMG_2389
The labyrinth is a Chartres “production” labyrinth, but it has a beautiful setting in an old cemetery where they are at adding a columbarium. In addition, there is a very charming fountain. Someone has really invested in this cemetery with a very nice new fence, but at the back is a wonderful old rock wall. And of course there was ice on the wall.
 IMG_2395
IMG_2402
There were also those little seedpods that will trip you up in an instant. I was very careful as I walked. My hands were absolutely freezing and turning shades of deep red, blue and white.
IMG_2400IMG_2421IMG_2408

At the center there was inlaid a compass rose … I wondered if it pointing towards North or towards jerusalem.
IMG_2410
There are four or  five churches along this stretch of Idlewild Road. I heared bells chiming, not synchronized, but is still quite charming. I also heard the raindrops on my umbrella.  And then I heard the wind chimes. They were hanging in a tree to the right of the entrance to the labyrinth.
🙂
IMG_2418
IMG_2429
Of course i read all the signs …
IMG_2434
Afterwards, I went to Church … Consequences …
Did I mention it was muddy on my walk … IMG_2437
And here’s an extract of the info on the web …

Morning Star Lutheran Chapel

Church or Place of Worship; Public Open

Chartres replica, 11 circuits

Date installed: November 2014

via World-Wide Labyrinth Locator – Locate a Labyrinth.

 


0 Responses to “3.1.15 … Definitely thinking I was going to regret this walk … But as with most of my walks, there were no regrets …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 630 other followers

March 2015
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

