09
Mar
15

3.9.15 … More and more I realize that our ability to communicate, to talk, to people in our community is the only way to break generational cycles. What will I think about tomorrow as I walk this unicursal path of 11 concentric circles? …

“Solvitur Ambulando”  – It is solved by walking, 2015 Labyrinth Walks (18/40), Wedgewood Church – Charlotte NC:
IMG_2596
Crunch, crunch, crunch …
IMG_2597

So it is the second day of daylight savings time. You know I really don’t get enough benefit out of it. I hate waking up in the dark. I realize I should not complain, because I have the luxury of waking up whenever I want. But if I didn’t, I would really, really, hate shifting from waking at dawn to waking in the dark.

I am here because, I want to like every labyrinth. But I picked the wrong time. It’s 5 o’clock and Wedgwood is on a busy street.  So there is heavy traffic,  5 o’clock traffic.
IMG_2598
IMG_2602
As I walk I am thinking of Penn’s sermon yesterday at First Presbyterian Church Charlotte. He talked about the “Plurals.”  My children are Millennials (Millennial Generation (1977-1996), the first generation of increasing power in the Twenty-First Century, was the result of a second baby boom during a time of unparalleled focus on the health and well-being of children). Children who were born 1997 or after are considered Plurals.

The research has recognized the demographic patterns, parenting styles and societal factors shaping the next generation.

  • The continual erosion of dominant media
  • The rapid emergence of fragmented and niche-based voices
  • The power of ground-up consensus building
  • The bold contrast of Gen X and Baby Boomer parenting styles
  • The growing conflicts surrounding demographic changes
  • The second-longest economic decline in U.S. history

Now, says the report, this newly named generation, the Plurals, are the most ethnically diverse generation to-date. Currently only 55% of Plurals are Caucasian, compared to 72% among Baby Boomers. The proportion of Caucasians in America will continue to diminish, creating a pluralistic society, one in which there isn’t a majority ethnicity or race. In 2019, live births in America will be less than 50% Caucasian, making the Pluralist Generation the last generation with a Caucasian majority.  In 2042, the entire population will be less than 50% Caucasian and America will literally become a pluralistic society. via Plurals: America’s Last Generation With Caucasian Majority

Back to what Penn discussed … A plural  is someone who grows up during the first time period where there is no majority in the United States. Historically, that majority has been white and Christian and probably what we refer to as WASP.  As a result, our children and  grandchildren will relate to people very differently.
As I walked I thought about what will be the common experience of many of this next generation, I consider my generation, the Baby Boomers. During  the Baby Boomer generation, a common experience was going to school and attending Sunday school every  Sunday. That’s just what everyone did. With our children, the Millennials, and this next generation, the Plurals, the common  experience is more likely to be playing soccer. They won’t even be playing football or baseball or basketball. It’s definitely playing soccer. Almost every child plays soccer.
So I began to wonder how I can make my experiences at 55 more common, more universal. Something that I can share with many  people, with a person regardless of their race, gender, sexuality, socio-economic background, religion…
So even though it is an extremely odd hobby or spiritual practice, it is a very interesting way for me to connect with people. (As well as to connect with myself and my God.)
IMG_2599
IMG_2601  IMG_2603
 IMG_2600
Crunch, crunch, crunch …
And on my way home, I listen to a very interesting NPR program on adverse childhood experiences ACE scores that I referenced  the other day. If  adults talk about their events, it might  prevent the generational cycles.  Absolutely fascinating.

Wade is working on his own screening tool, a short list of questions that would give every young patient at the clinic an “adversity score.” The list will include indicators of abuse and neglect (which pediatricians already are on the lookout for) and also check for signs of poverty, racial discrimination or bullying. Dr. Roy Wade, a pediatrician at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, says asking about tough experiences his patients have faced gives him a way in — a way to be a doctor to the whole family. Wade wants to take action because research suggests that the stress of a tough childhood can raise the risk for later disease, mental illness and addiction. The American Academy of Pediatrics put out a call in 2011 to doctors to address what the Academy characterizes as “toxic stress” among young patients. Of course, not every kid with a rough childhood will suffer long-term effects. But asking every patient (or their parents) about adversity in their lives, Wade says, could help identify the kids who are at higher risk. If a patient has a high adversity score, Wade says, he’s likely to track the child’s development more closely. “That’ll be the kid where I’ll say, ‘Come back to me in three months, or two months,’ ” he says. ” ‘Let’s see how you’re doing. Let’s check in.’ ” … The survey’s 10 questions cover things like physical and sexual abuse, neglect, death of a parent, and alcohol or drug use in the home; each participant winds up with an ACE score of between 0 and 10. Research suggests that an ACE score of 4 is the threshold where health risks start to climb. In one prenatal group at 11th Street, everyone scored between 3 and 5. A few years ago, researchers screened a larger sample of 11th Street patients and found that 49 percent had an ACE score of 4 or higher, says Patty Gerrity, founder and director of the center, which is affiliated with Drexel University. “We knew that we were working with a very traumatized population,” Gerrity says, “but we were sort of astounded at the numbers.” The hope is that talking in the prenatal group about childhood will help break generational cycles of trauma and abuse. via To Head Off Trauma’s Legacy, Start Young : Shots – Health News : NPR.

More and more I realize that our ability to communicate, to talk, to people in our community is the only way to break the generational cycles. I hope our children are up  to the task. What will I think about tomorrow as I walk this unicursal path of 11 concentric circles? …

Blessings …
IMG_2605

0 Responses to “3.9.15 … More and more I realize that our ability to communicate, to talk, to people in our community is the only way to break generational cycles. What will I think about tomorrow as I walk this unicursal path of 11 concentric circles? …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 630 other followers

March 2015
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

