13
Mar
15

3.13.15 … Coulda, woulda, shoulda … great day to be a Wildcat, again … dignity of difference …

 “Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2015 Lenten Labyrinth Walks (21/40),  finger sand  labyrinth @ home:
 IMG_2670
 Coulda, woulda, shoulda … so, it is the  end of the day,  I can  either double up tomorrow, but that kind of misses the point, or can do a finger labyrinth, which feels a little like cheating. I decide on the latter.
I must tell you though that my day has been filled with serious sorrow and serious anxiety, it also has been filled with great pleasure. I will  focus on Davidson’s win at the A-10 Conference tournament. It was a hold your breath downtown the buzzer type of  game, a Cinderella story … and we are a little closer to the big dance …
IMG_2666
I also began preparing to lead the Sunday School at First Presbyterian Church. I’m digging  in  already, because  I am following the senior pastor. The topic is taking dignity of difference and I will be using Jonathan Sacks’ The Dignity of Difference: How to Avoid the Clash of Civilizations. I’m just starting, and I have lots of ideas. My first thought is the Tower of Babel on the cover (Pieter Brugel’s Tower of Babel (1563), and then I remember that one of our ministers, Erika Funk, helped me understand a new  interpretation of the story. I think I’m going to start with that.
IMG_2672
In addition, I am struck by this quote:
The proliferation of channels of communication — email, chat-groups, the Internet, online journals, and the thousands of cable and satellite television channels mean that we no longer broadcast. We narrowcast. Gone are the days where people of different views were forced to share an arena and thus meet and reason with their opponents. Today, we can target those who agree with us and screen out the voices of dissent. Those who wish to make their views known, do so that way the catch the attention of the news– usually by some form of violence or protest, an event that can be captured by a dramatic image, a soundbite, and scenes of confrontation. Television news especially,  with that short attention span, is no substitute for not rational debate and serious engagement with contrary views. Conversation, the heartbeat of democratic politics, is dying and with that our chances of civic, let alone global, peace.
Unfortunately I had to miss the Red Boot  Coalition today. If I had, I would have read the above quote.
So my mantra today is: Please, Lord, let me not narrowest, but broadcast.
My walk …
IMG_2671
Blessings.

0 Responses to “3.13.15 … Coulda, woulda, shoulda … great day to be a Wildcat, again … dignity of difference …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 630 other followers

March 2015
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

