14
Mar
15

3.14.15 9:26:53 … Silliness can transport us AROUND many challenges! … I feel EPIC … TO INFINITY AND BEYOND …

“Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2015 Lenten Labyrinth Walks 22/40, Myers Park Baptist Church- Charlotte NC:

And for those who know me, I almost missed it. I’ve always said I cannot memorize anything. And certainly not a random series of numbers. In my mind it was 9:56:23… Fortunately I checked at 9:06 this morning… And now I race to the labyrinth:
keep_calm_its_pi_day_2015_collectors_item_travel

IMG_2675

I made it and in honor of this epic pi day, at 3.14.15 9:26:53, I walked an 11 circuit unicursive path; in other words, I very intentionally walked in circles. While walking, I considered estimating the distance I walk by calculating the circumference of each of those 11 concentric circles. Not really, but I could!!

The walk … and yes, it is raining …

IMG_2678

IMG_2684 IMG_2678

IMG_2679

IMG_2682

IMG_2681

I then planned my day around the schedule of five over-average-height men playing with a orange ball whose official dimensions are:

The National Basketball Association (NBA) allows only one official ball: The ball must be the official NBA game ball manufactured by Spalding. The ball is orange in color, 29.5 inches in circumference and weighs 22 ounces (size 7). It must also be inflated to between 7.5 and 8.5 pounds per square inch. https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index…

(Does anyone deflate basketball balls??) Maybe I wil try to calculate the surface area which is approximately SA = 4 π r2.

And to close off the celebration, I will enjoy the lobster pie that my son gave me it as a gift for my birthday.

Some noticed my shirt on FB,  3.14.15 9:26:53 Day of the Century …

IMG_2686

Have I mentioned I am a big kid? …  I actually ordered it for myself about a week ago. I am a silly person. And I don’t think any of my children have the silliness. And I was thinking about it earlier today,  I realize that I probably get it from my very formal white glove grandmother who celebrated every holiday. Interesting where the genes pop up.  As one friend commented … Silliness can transport us AROUND many challenges! (Thank you, Cheryl!)

I hope you have a happy pi day. And happy birthday to Albert Einstein as well.

I feel EPIC  … TO INFINITY AND BEYOND …

And now some background …

Funny, my husband did not know what pi day was. We certainly did not celebrate it in the 60s growing up. However I remember  celebrating it vividly with my children in elementary, middle, and high school, and bringing in pies for the day. Anything for a party.🙂

In advance of this epic pi day, I did a little research.

13346_10153207973919052_8177148782387132708_n

The earliest known official or large-scale celebration of Pi Day was organized by Larry Shaw in 1988 at the San Francisco Exploratorium,[5] where Shaw worked as a physicist,[6] with staff and public marching around one of its circular spaces, then consuming fruit pies.[7] The Exploratorium continues to hold Pi Day celebrations.

via http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pi_Day

And as I mentioned it is also Einstein’s birthday …. Here is another interesting article with some fun facts about pi and Einstein …

Pi Day Fun Fact: Many of history’s greatest minds have been fascinated by pi. They include Leonardo da Vinci, who attempted to approximate pi, and Isaac Newton, who calculated pi to at least 16 decimal places. (Source: RandomHistory.com)

… Pi Day Fun Fact:  Star Trek’s Mr. Spock knew the value of pi. In the “Wolf in the Fold” TV episode, Spock thwarts an evil entity inside the Enterprise’s computer system by ordering it to “compute to last digit the value of pi,” which can never be computed. (Source: RandomHistory.com)

Pi Day Fun Fact: Ancient Greek mathematician Archimedes of Syracuse (287-212 B.C.) was one of the first scholars to calculate pi. One of the many theories surrounding Archimedes’s death is that when Roman soldiers stormed Syracuse, the passionate mathematician continued his calculations and told them “Do not touch my circles!” which resulted in his beheading. (Source: RandomHistory.com)

via Fascinating Facts About Pi Day & Birthday Boy Albert Einstein – Biography.com.

Einstein wasn’t a big fan of school. Despite some claims, he actually did well in his classes, especially math and science. Einstein, however, didn’t like the way he was taught. He later remarked that “It is almost a miracle that modern teaching methods have not yet entirely strangled the holy curiosity of inquiry; for what this delicate little plant needs more than anything, besides stimulation, is freedom,” according to an article on the American Institute of Physics website.

Einstein had a lifelong passion for music. At the age of six, he took up the violin at his mother’s request. Einstein was quickly won over by classical music, especially the works of Wolfgang Mozart. According to Jürgen Neffe’s Einstein: A Biography, Einstein once said that “Mozart’s music is so pure and beautiful that I see it as a reflection of the inner beauty of the universe.”

Not only was he a great scientist, Einstein was passionate about social issues. He had been a pacifist during World War I, but he became concerned at the rising anti-Semitism in Germany following the war. He began to speak out in favor of creating a homeland for the Jewish people in Palestine. Einstein visited the United States in the early 1920s to raise funds for what is now known as Hebrew University. In 1952, he was even invited to become the president of Israel, but he turned the job down.

Einstein also supported the Civil Rights movement in America. In the 1940s, he penned the essay “The Negro Question,” which appeared in Pageant magazine. Einstein wrote that the racial divide in his new homeland (he became a U.S. citizen in 1940) deeply troubled him. “I can escape the feeling of complicity in it only by speaking out.” A member of the NAACP, Einstein considered racism to be the “worst disease” in the country.

via Fascinating Facts About Pi Day & Birthday Boy Albert Einstein – Biography.com.

 

And I will add one more article …

Why do mathematicians care so much about pi? Is it some kind of weird circle fixation? Hardly. The beauty of pi, in part, is that it puts infinity within reach. Even young children get this. The digits of pi never end and never show a pattern. They go on forever, seemingly at random—except that they can’t possibly be random, because they embody the order inherent in a perfect circle. This tension between order and randomness is one of the most tantalizing aspects of pi.

What distinguishes pi from all other numbers is its connection to cycles. For those of us interested in the applications of mathematics to the real world, this makes pi indispensable. Whenever we think about rhythms—processes that repeat periodically, with a fixed tempo, like a pulsing heart or a planet orbiting the sun—we inevitably encounter pi.

In short, pi is woven into our descriptions of the innermost workings of the universe.

via Why Pi Matters – The New Yorker.

11046752_10153207975264052_2317376905295872245_n


0 Responses to “3.14.15 9:26:53 … Silliness can transport us AROUND many challenges! … I feel EPIC … TO INFINITY AND BEYOND …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 630 other followers

March 2015
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

