06
Aug
16

8.6.16 … a nice August walk … “We have this possibility of doing a pilgrimage every single day” – Paulo Coelho …

“Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2016 labyrinth walks, The Oratory – Rock Hill SC:

It’s 88° at 10:30 AM in the morning. It is muggy. 

As I walk into the garden, I realize that it is a very tired garden. I wonder who the tired person is that takes care of the garden. I pray for him or her. 

As I walk, I noticed the backside of Mary, figs on the fig tree, the white stones that make up the path, a large oak tree … I hear birds chirping, 11 AM bell and then cascading music; Is the music part of the bells? I do not know the answer. But it must be. I feel the sting of several mosquitoes. And then I hear the traffic. Recently I told someone who has a private labyrinth not to replace the mulch with small pebbles because of the noise they make. This one has really pretty white pebbles, large white pebbles, but again, the noise conflicts with the spiritual walk/meditation. I find myself walking on the boundaries for a reprieve from the noise. But when I walk on the boundaries, I realize that I can now hear the traffic. It’s a conflict.


A nice August walk …

and this from Krista Tippett and Paulo Cuelho:

onbeing“We have this possibility of doing a pilgrimage every single day. Because a pilgrimage implies in meeting different people, in talking to strangers, in paying attention to the omens, and basically being open to life. And, we leave our home to go to work, to go to school, and we have every single day this possibility, this chance of discovering something new. So, the pilgrimage is not for the privileged one who can go to Spain and to France, and walk this 500 miles, but to people who are open to life. A pilgrimage, at the end of the day, is basically get rid of things that you are using, and try something new.” — Paulo Coelho
In this week’s episode, Krista is in conversation with Brazilian lyricist @PauloCoelho. Listen at onbeing.org.

#pilgrimage #openness #PauloCoelho


0 Responses to “8.6.16 … a nice August walk … “We have this possibility of doing a pilgrimage every single day” – Paulo Coelho …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 630 other followers

August 2016
S M T W T F S
« Jul    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

