12
Mar
20

3.12.20 … “There’s rosemary, that’s for remembrance.”

“Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2020 Lenten Labyrinth Walks (17/40), All Saints Episcopal-Gastonia NC:

So as I was making the drive back from Atlanta to Charlotte, I realized I wanted to walk a labyrinth along the way. When I realized I was in Gastonia, I knew where it would be … All Saints Church

As I pulled into the parking lot, I noticed this huge black and white cat jumping over the fence. I quickly pulled up my my camera app, and when I walked up the hill to the labyrinth, I could still see the cat. But is soon as the cat saw me, he/she scampered away. He/she was big…

The next thing that jumped out at me was the butterfly ornament and the tile that says “Peace Be With You.” Nice thoughts as I entered the space.

And then I noticed the gorgeous purple blooms on the rosemary! They were very beautiful. I will never forget the rosemary sachets that were handed out at the funeral of the very special mother of a very special friend with this Shakespeare quote: .

There’s rosemary, that’s for remembrance.” Hamlet, Act 4, Scene 5.

Oddly I just found the sachet in a purse I was giving away.

I then looked over to the side and noticed that there was a bench on the other side of the blooming rosemary with the butterfly motif.

This is a Chartres style labyrinth and six circuits and a center with six petals to the rosette. It was a very quick walk.

The labyrinth was a little weedy today, but that’s OK. Life can be weedy. I also noticed the community garden nearby. It has lovely raised beds, but right now no work has been done for the new season.

I have walked this labyrinth several times before but never noticed the huge behavioral health center right across the street. Not that it matters.

I heard lots of birds singing at me today. The weather was overcast and relatively warm, 75°. The church is near the airport; I saw several planes in the sky.

I felt like Goldilocks today: this one is too short, this one is too long, this one is too weedy … this one is just right…

As I was exiting, I noticed a ton of bees on the flowering rosemary. I just thought that was interesting.

“Rosemary flowers vary from white to pink to blue, and the blooming time depends on the selection. Plants that bloom in late spring or early summer attract bees.”

Source: Rosemary | Southern Living, https://www.southernliving.com/home-garden/gardens/rosemary

This church has a sign as you are exiting that reads, “you are now entering the mission field.” I really like that.

After I got back home, I did a little research. In the back of my mind I remembered that Rosemary has medicinal qualities. I found this:

“The herb has been hailed since ancient times for its medicinal properties. Rosemary was traditionally used to help alleviate muscle pain, improve memory, boost the immune and circulatory system, and promote hair growth.”

Source: Rosemary: Health benefits, precautions, and drug interactions, https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/266370

I did not find any labyrinth information at the labyrinth, but their website has a page dedicated. It gives a nice introduction.

“The Labyrinth at All Saints Episcopal was built in 2012 by the parishioners of All Saints.  It is classified as a 6 circuit medieval labyrinth.  It is made out of brick/pavers and is located near the Ecclesia Garden up the hill to the west from the church building.  It has become a contemplative place for many parishioners and members of the local community.

Labyrinth walking is an ancient practice used by many different faith traditions for spiritual centering, contemplation and prayer. Entering the serpentine path of a labyrinth, the walker walks slowly while quieting their mind and focusing on a spiritual question or prayer.”

Source: Labyrinth – All Saints Episcopal Gastonia, http://www.allsaintsgastonia.org/labyrinth

Peace be with you …

3.12.20



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 621 other subscribers

Archives