04
Apr
22

4.4.22 … “Language shows us that naming an experience doesn’t give the experience more power, it gives us the power of understanding and meaning.”

“Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2022 Labyrinth Walks, 2022 Lenten Labyrinth Walks (32/40), Myers Park Baptist Church – Charlotte NC:

The sky was strange, not really ominous, but very heavily overcast. Definitely not Carolina blue. I hope that’s not an omen.

As I started to walk, it was 6 PM and the clock at Queens College was shouting the time. #DoesAnyoneReallyKnowWhatTimeItIs

I think I mentioned recently that the early flowering trees have passed and now the snowballs and the dogwoods are coming out full force. And quite a few azaleas.

Whatever it is, I was definitely experiencing allergies. That reminds me of last year when after I got my second Covid vaccine, I had allergy problems for three months. It is usually only two weeks for me. When I went for my annual physical in late June, my doctor said that it was actually not an unusual response to the Covid vaccine. The vaccine had stimulated my immune response and so I was over responding to all of the allergens. She advised that I take Zyrtec for the rest of the summer… I did and it solved all the problem. I must get the Zyrtec out again.

I’ve had a long day and it’s been a bit tough on me. I kind of hit my breaking point late this afternoon while I was attending a Bible study offered by a friend that I met when I was a freshman in college. After the Bible study, I sought out a 15 minute meditation… This is what I found… 15 Minute Guided Meditation To Find Peace In Uncertain Times, https://youtu.be/W19PdslW7iw.

I walked the labyrinth while she walked from her home nearby.

I so enjoyed our walk with her beautiful 11 month old pup Salem. We walked in the nearby neighborhood.

I loved the end of the conversation. We discussed Brene Brown, Madeleine L’Engle and A Wrinkle in Time, thin places, loss of language during war/conflict … “How we feel shapes our lives, but most of us have limited language to describe what we’re feeling. This limitation is the focus of Brené Brown’s new book, “Atlas of The Heart: Mapping Meaningful Connection and The Language of Human Experience.” …

“Language shows us that naming an experience doesn’t give the experience more power, it gives us the power of understanding and meaning.”

Brené Brown, ATLAS OF THE HEART

Once again I felt my time on the labyrinth and my time with a listening friend was transformative.

It’s amazing what a little bit of time can do to change my perspective.

4.4.22



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 621 other subscribers
April 2022
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives