11
Apr
20

4.11.20 … “I believe we still have opportunities to meet the Divine (whatever you believe that to be), because in the wilderness, we connect with That Which Is Greater Than Ourselves (one of my favorite names for God), and we are embraced by sense of belonging, of oneness, and of peace.”

“Solvitur Ambulando” – It is solved by walking, 2020 Lenten Labyrinth Walks (42/40), 2020 Lenten Lists, Sardis Baptist Church – Charlotte NC:

Today is that weird day in the Triduum…my new word.

And of course I researched what the Presbyterians have to say about the Triduum …

Notes for Explaining the Triduum / Three Days

There should be a sense of continuity uniting the services of Holy Week, from Passion / Palm Sunday to the Resurrection of the Lord. The services of the Triduum (or Three Days) in particular — Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, and the Resurrection of the Lord — are really intended to be one whole event that stretches across three days. These brief explanatory notes are offered to bridge the gaps between the services, helping to give the sense that the event is ongoing. These notes might printed in the beginnings of the orders of worship, as indicated.

Maundy Thursday

On Passion/Palm Sunday we celebrated the triumphant entry of Jesus into Jerusalem … and then turned with him to face the cross, where he gave his life for us and our salvation. Tonight we keep the feast that Jesus shared with his disciples on the night of his arrest, and we remember his new commandment to love one another even as he has loved us.

Good Friday

On Maundy Thursday we kept the feast that Jesus shared with his disciples on the night of his arrest, and we remembered his new commandment: to love one another even as he has loved us. This afternoon we turn to the cross, where Jesus gave his life for us and our salvation.

Easter Sunday / Easter Vigil

On Good Friday we witnessed the tragedy of Jesus’ suffering and death on the cross, where he gave his life for us and our salvation. Today, on the first day of the week, [or Tonight at the Easter Vigil] we gather at the tomb … only to discover that the stone is rolled away, and the grave is empty. Today [Tonight] we celebrate the good news of the gospel: Jesus Christ is risen!

Office of Theology and Worship, Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) 1

https://www.presbyterianmission.org/wp-content/uploads/notes_for_explaining_the_triduum.pdf

So there is really nothing for me to do on Holy Saturday, but rest … so I tried to rest. But I did walk.

As I pulled into Sardis Baptist, a couple of moms and kids with bikes were there … I asked them if they were using the labyrinth, and they said no, that they lived nearby, and they were just using the parking lot to ride bikes… Just trying to “stay sane” …

I noticed the other day when I was here that no one was preparing the grounds for Easter. Well, today someone had clearly power washed the labyrinth. So it was clean and pollen free. It was refreshing.

And I walked, i was soothed by the absolutely gorgeous blue sky, the fully developed tree canopy and the bright pink azaleas that were beginning to bloom. The daffodils that have charmed me during my Lenten walks were completely gone.

I thought about several passages from Rabbi Korngold’s God in the Wilderness:

“But I believe we still have opportunities to meet the Divine (whatever you believe that to be), because in the wilderness, we connect with That Which Is Greater Than Ourselves (one of my favorite names for God), and we are embraced by sense of belonging, of oneness, and of peace.

I know that it’s not always possible (or even desirable) to relocate to the middle of the desert for a month. For people who live in the city, the closest you might get to the wilderness is an urban park. But even there you can cultivate the patience to see burning bushes and open yourself to spiritual opportunity. One of my favorite “tools” for slowing down, taking notice, and being fully present is a short sensory meditation that can be done anywhere.

As we hiked, I asked the group to try to consciously slow down their minds and shift into their “Sabbath souls,” to allow themselves to experience the calmness and grace that surrounded us.”

– God in the Wilderness: Rediscovering the Spirituality of the Great Outdoors with the Adventure Rabbi by Rabbi Jamie S. Korngold

My Lenten Labyrinth Walks definitely help me to rest, to slow down my mind and to shift into my Sabbath Soul; they allow me to experience the calmness and grace that surrounds me.

Blessings …

4.11.20


0 Responses to “4.11.20 … “I believe we still have opportunities to meet the Divine (whatever you believe that to be), because in the wilderness, we connect with That Which Is Greater Than Ourselves (one of my favorite names for God), and we are embraced by sense of belonging, of oneness, and of peace.””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 621 other subscribers
April 2020
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives